All About Me

David's Mii


a little about myself

I'm a big geek living in Sacramento with my wife Chris and my two boys Brody (7) and Zane (3). I grew up in Marina, CA and move to Sacramento in '97 after highschool. I'm currently working at an investment company doing boring stuff so I'm looking to get into something I'm more interested in.


my computer experience

I first learned about computers in 7th grade Computer Science class where we used Apple IIe's to make a few simple programs. I enjoyed doing it but I never had my own computer until after highschool. I pretty much turned geek after that and tought myself most of the stuff I know. I've since had a few personal projects that I've done including websites and an arcade cabinet.


what i know about the web and web publishing

I started dabbling in web stuff shortly after we got our first computer. I started out messing around with Front Page and putting throwing it up on a geocities site. A couple of years ago I found out about CMS's and put up sites using Mambo, Joomla, and Wordpress. I'm now starting to get more into the actual coding so maybe I'll be able to come up with something good of my own.


why i am taking this class

I've learned a lot on my own already, but of course there is always more to learn. I'm taking this class so that I can fill in the gaps that I've missed while learning on my own and build a stronger foundation from which I can grow from. My end goal would be to start my own web development/design business and work for myself.


my favorite interests and hobbies are